RSS Feed

Foiling a Fitness Funk

I had a great day of exercise.  I badly needed it too.  Last week, I just wasn’t on my game and it was starting to get to me.  I know there were a lot of things beyond my control, but I just did not like that I didn’t have any days last week where I felt elated from a work-out.  I know Daily Mile says I did a decent job, but it just doesn’t feel like these were worthwhile work-outs.

I was in a fitness funk. Not a long one, but a funk nonetheless.

Today began with an awesome spin class. I had skipped spin last week for a couple of reasons, and that definitely contributed to my lackluster work-outs.  It felt so good to be there.  I was a little apprehensive when I saw it wasn’t the usual instructor, who I love.  But this instructor turned out to be great as well.  He was a little more low key than the regular, but it was deceptive because my heart rate was definitely going through the roof, even if we didn’t do as many hills as normal.  I think he lured us into thinking we were taking it easier by acting sympathetic that it was early and ‘our bodies are still waking up,’ but then he threw a set of three fast intervals at the very end.  My legs were still feeling residual fatigue from Sunday, so I didn’t add on as much tension as normal, but it felt awesome shaking them out.  I walked out of there with a bright red face and that slightly exhausted-yet-energized feeling from an intense cardio experience.

Then, I made it to the gym for a relatively brief afternoon strength training session.  I’ll admit, it almost got away from me  today- I was lured into one of the conference rooms only to discover that someone had placed a large order at Chick-fil-A for the office (where is the nearest one to DC, anyway?). Normally I try to avoid these work things, especially when I’m about to go to the gym, because I do my best to eat healthy so that I can indulge on my terms, not for often lackluster office offerings (although they do bring in awesome brownies, for which I make an exception. Every time.).  But in this particular situation, it would have been rude to walk in and then just leave.  So I ate a chicken finger.  I debated how long I would need to let it digest and still squeeze something in before an out-of-office meeting, where I wouldn’t have a chance to do it afterwards.

So I decided to just go for it.  Here’s proof:

My office gym- pretty nice for a free one!

A quick ten minute jog to warm-up, then a series of planks and side planks, followed by a few sets of push-ups and bicep curls.  Normally I try to mix it all together, but I was really feeling the planks for the first time in a while, so I decided to go with it.  It was a somewhat easier session, but since it had been a while I felt it would be better to ease in.  And it felt really good to be back into the swing of it.

Plank #1- not the best form, need to work on that.

To top of my comeback- a walk around the Masonic temple with the boys.  It was the perfect ending- especially since they are both passed out next to me on the couch instead of bouncing around.  I think I’m back on track.

I have a good feeling about tomorrow morning’s run.

Fitness for the Mind: [Before he was President, Andrew Jackson was shot in the arm as the result of a brawl that he started in Nashville]…While being tended to by doctors, he bled through two mattresses. The physicians wanted to amputate Jackson’s left arm, but Jackson refused.” (Tough guy!)

American Lion: Andrew Jackson in the White House
By: Jon Meacham

2 responses »

  1. Oh man, I miss Chick-Fil-A, I have to stop by every time I’m back home in Texas. Among other places. No wonder I put on weight when I’m home!

    Nice job getting out of your funk. And don’t worry, nobody can resist office brownies. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

