RSS Feed

Even the best laid plans…

After I wrote my post on Sunday night laying out my exercise schedule for the week, I realized it was going to have to be broken right away.  I had forgotten that I’m going to be out of town on a business trip tomorrow (Thursday) all day, and honestly won’t have any time to fit in a work-out.

Thinking fast, I just decided to change up strength training to Monday and Wednesday afternoons. Well, Monday morning brought an unexpected vet visit into the mix (don’t worry, our big guy is just fine) and I didn’t get into work until after 10:30.  I didn’t think it would be the most professional thing in the world to also take a 45 minute break to work out.  I didn’t even bother to bring my work out gear so I wouldn’t be tempted to be a work slacker.  Not that it would have mattered- it’s been a busy week at the offive, so I don’t know that I could have fit it in and got all my work done without staying at the office until late, which wouldn’t be worth it to me, especially when I had a potentially unhappy dog at home.

Eamon, passed out after his stressful day at the vet and his pain killers. He falls asleep like this regularly.

Yesterday I was going to try fit in some circuits, but it was another crazy busy day, and the way all my meetings were set up there wouldn’t be a good time to go. It just wasn’t in the cards.

Luckily I’ve been able to do all my morning work-outs, including an awesome five mile run today.  Of course, when you get up early, there really isn’t anything that can ‘come up’ and force you to reschedule.  That’s the beauty (and sometimes torture) of it.  And today I was able to get down to the gym and do some planks and leg work.  That’s likely all my muscles will get this week- travel tomorrow, and Saturday is my long run, so I’d rather not stress out my muscles on Friday.

Yet again, I’m having to deal with the fact that life just gets in the way sometimes, and you can’t be too hard on yourself for missing a work out when absolutely necessary.  It can be very easy to get down on yourself, especially if it’s an aspect of your training that you keep letting slide, but I just remind myself of what I did manage to do today, and that tomorrow I can just try again.

Except, not literally since I’ll be in Ohio tomorrow.  But usually, that thinking works.

4 responses »

  1. Your dog’s sleeping position is hilarious! I can’t believe he sleeps like that. I wouldn’t be able to resist tickling those toes…but that’s probably why my dog doesn’t sleep like that. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Hope your dog is feeling better! Love his sleeping position 🙂
    I know what you mean about life sometimes getting in the way! I suppose for me it is trying not to be too hard on myself if it does but I will try (where energy allows) to get up early and do something…..hopefully when spring and summer come alone this will become more common!

    🙂

    Reply
    • I think it’s also remembering that some exercise is better than none, so even if you were able to do a brief work out, it’s doing your body good even if it’s not what you were aiming for. Good luck with the morning exercise, it took me a few years to finally get it right!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

