RSS Feed

Spring Break!

My husband and I tentatively made plans to take a long-awaited 10 day trip to the Southwest in April- something I have wanted to do ever since my first job at the National Park Foundation.  I was lucky that my parents, both in education, had summers off and took us to many National Parks, so I have had a love of the Parks instilled in me at a young age.  But I had no idea there were places like Zion and Arches until my work at NPF.  Upon seeing those landscapes in the promotional brochures we distributed, those became my dream destinations.

 

Arches National Park

 

I just haven’t been able to swing a trip there.  Life always gets in the way- for a long time I didn’t have anyone to join me, then there was law school.  My husband and I were thinking of going after I took the bar, but decided that August is not the best time to visit the desert.  In retrospect, this was totally the right decision- miserable temperatures in the Southwest aside, I was so burnt out that I don’t think I would have enjoyed it anyway.

But now, assuming we can secure a place for our dogs with some very generous friends, we’re going! I can barely contain my excitement!  In a 10 day span during the first two weeks in April, we will visit Zion, Bryce Canyon, Arches, Canyonlands and the Grand Canyon.  We’ll mostly be hiking, but do have a full day rafting trip planned in Moab.  Which means I spent a good chunk of the weekend shopping for a new, more substantial swimsuit.

Here’s my running related conundrum: I had wanted to sign-up for the George Washington Parkway Classic 10 Miler, but was waiting to see if we’d be traveling that weekend.  Now I know we’ll be here, but I likely won’t be running at all during the trip.  It’ll be an active vacation for sure, but I doubt I’ll be able to squeeze in any training runs.  There’s only one weekend in between our return and the race.  I will also (presumably) have run the Rock ‘n’ Roll USA half on March 17, my first half marathon.  I’m not sure if I would be setting myself up for injury or some sort of mishap given all this. 

So, should I take a chance and just do it? Or wait for next year? Any thoughts?

6 responses »

  1. Interesting sistah… I’ve been thinking that if I budget my money properly (so not going to happen) I might be able to take a trip to the Badlands this summer (considering I don’t remember too much of our family trip other than the animals we saw while we visited)! I’d love to go on the southwest trip with you guys– give me travel tips, maybe I’ll duplicate your trip itinerary someday 🙂

    Reply
  2. I think you should go for it with the 10-miler. Your vacation will be packed with enough activity thad you won’t lose much endurance at all from your 1/2 training. In Oct. 2010 I signed up for a 10-miler a few weeks after I ran my first marathon and was super nervous, but it was the easiest 10 miles of my life!
    Also Zion, Bryce, and Arches are amazing (never been to the others). Do you climb at all? If so I can give you some fun climbing routes/areas to hit up while you are there!

    Reply
    • Thanks for the input- I’m leaning heavily towards signing up. And even if on race day I bomb, the important thing is just to finish.

      I’ve never been climbing, but we’re always open to new stuff on our trips. I’d definitely love some recommendations in case we decide it’s something we want to try! I’m so excited!

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Get My Heart Racing « SpeedyCupcake

  4. Pingback: Falling by the Wayside « SpeedyCupcake

  5. Pingback: The Wayward Blogger Returns « SpeedyCupcake

Leave a Reply

