RSS Feed

New Stuff on Website

I haven’t been the best blogger lately, but hopefully that will change this week. Mostly this is because I’ve been trying to figure out how to add some stuff to my page in the manner that I want. I think I’ve finally figured it out, and I hope you’ll find them helpful.

Mainly, I’ve added a Strength Training section. I haven’t discussed strength training yet, but I think it’s a critical part to running. Like most people, I used to hate the weights portion of my work out, never really dedicated myself to it, and usually gave it up. But last winter, right around this time, I integrated easy, short strength training into my work-out schedule and managed to stick it out. I’m so glad I did, because I feel as though it has made a huge difference in my return to running and ability to maintain stamina and speed. I also notice a big difference in other areas of my life, yoga and cleaning. Major bonus- my clothes all fit better! This new section is mostly just anecdotes from my experience, the exercises I do/have done, and general encouragement for everyone to do some sort of toning routine every week.

I’ve also added a Races section, that will mostly list the races I’ve participating/planning to participate in, and my experiences with them when I actually run them. The races from 2011 are just listed- since I didn’t have the blog yet, I didn’t bother to recap.

My first race of the year is the George Washington Birthday Classic 10K on February 18. I chose this partially because I thought it would be a good training race prior to the March 17 half, but also because it’s just down the street from my apartment- I can walk to the start line. Can’t beat that!

Lastly, I’m hoping to order a camera this week- as I mentioned in my first post, I’ve been very technology-adverse for someone my age, and have no camera besides on my basic non-smartphone. So hopefully I’ll start posting some actual pictures of me, my running and my life in general- especially my dogs most likely!

So check out some of the new stuff- there’s not a lot yet, but something to give you an idea of where I’m going. Suggestions and questions welcome!

Leave a Reply

