RSS Feed

5:45 AM Run = Alert All Day

I realized today that it had been a while since I ran first thing in the morning- since before Christmas at least.  I had from Dec. 23 – Jan. 2 off, and even though I still got up at 5:30 with my husband to help take the dogs out before he started his work blogging, I would go back to bed- I was on vacation, after all.  Then last week, it was so bitterly cold most mornings that I did other things, mostly yoga.

It felt good to be back to my routine.  I was sleepy from not sleeping all that well last night, but otherwise my legs and other limbs all felt great.  I was definitely more awake by the time my 3.13 sojourn was up.  I also did a pretty good pace- about 9:40 I estimate (soon I hope to get a running watch to be more accurate).

I love running on a mostly empty stomach- a few sips of water, and sometimes half a banana if I’m going 5 miles, but mostly empty.  I love how quiet it is out there, and how few cars there are.  I love how alert I feel the rest of the day, and just generally less stressed.  I also love how my appetite seems sated I just don’t get as hungry throughout the day when I run in the morning.  Which means more energy and less cranky Cupcake.

I’m going to take this as a good omen for the coming week.   I hope everyone else had as good a start to the day as I did.

One response »

  1. Sounds like a good day! I also enjoy running in the morning and on a mostly empty stomach, that way less chances for side stitches!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

