RSS Feed

Power Hour Yoga

I’m a morning person, and I especially love working out in the morning.  Plus, I get up at 5:30 every day with my hubby anyway because he has to write a blog of his own for work.  So it’s the ideal time to work out.

Today was the coldest day we’ve seen here in Northern Virginia in quite some time.  Normally, I love running in the cold.  But not bitter cold at 5:30 in the morning.  At least not yet- I’m just not there in my running experience!

Lucky for me, my favorite yoga studio in Old Town now has a 6-7 am class every day, at least for the month of January.  This is perfect- not only does it provide an alternative to running in the mornings, it’ll hopefully help me accomplish one of my resolutions to go to yoga more.  My problem has been that, because I get up so early, I’m almost never motivated to go to yoga after work– too tired, too hungry.  With this class, I’ll hopefully be able to get yoga in more regularly and hence help keep my muscles loose for my running.

My favorite yoga studio in Old Town!

Today’s class was Pure Prana’s usual excellence- it was a great mix of faster paced movement to break a little sweat and deep stretching to do what yoga does best (at least for me).  It was a great way to start the day, and also helped with my strength training routine at lunch time.  I’m planning to go again on Friday- if you’re in the Old Town area and looking for a good early morning yoga class, I highly recommend this!

Leave a Reply

